Wyandotte High School
Wyandotte High School is a fully accredited, public high school located in Kansas City, Kansas, United States, serving students in grades 9-12. The building itself is a historic and notable public building, which was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986. The school principal is Mary Stewart. The mascot is the Bulldog and the school colors are red, and white. The athletic programs have won many state championships including an undefeated mythic national championship in boy's basketball in 1923. Notable alumni of the school include actor Edward Asner, actress Dee Wallace, and UCLA basketball star Lucius Allen.

On March 28, 1985, the school building was designated as a Kansas City, Kansas Historic Landmark. It was registered in Historic Kansas Places on November 23, 1985, and placed in the National Register of Historic Places on April 30, 1986.

Extracurricular activities
The Bulldogs are classified as a 5A school, the second-largest classification in Kansas according to the Kansas State High School Activities Association. Throughout its history, Wyandotte has won thirty-one state championships in various sports. Many graduates have gone on to participate in Division I, Division II, and Division III athletics.

Basketball The Bulldogs are known statewide for winning 20 state titles in basketball including a 1923 undefeated national championship season (and the girl's team in 1924, under Coach Helen Barnett, won the State title in Stanley, Kansas). One of the nation's most successful high school basketball coaches, Walter Shublom led Wyandotte High School of Kansas City, Kansas to 10 state championships and three second-place finishes in his 14 seasons there from 1955-1969. Shublom posted an incredible 296-26 record (.919 winning percentage) at Wyandotte, with his 1957 and 1965 teams finishing unbeaten and another five teams finishing with just one loss. He and Wyandotte High School share a spot in the Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts, where they fall under the heading of high school dynasty. For ten straight seasons, from 1956 to 1965, Shublom's Bulldogs played in the state championship game. Seven of those years they were successful, including five straight years, 1957-1961. Following his tenure at Wyandotte, he became the University of Missouri freshman coach in 1969 and in two years there, guided the Tiger frosh to 21 wins and 2 losses. Shublom went on to coach Kansas City Kansas Community College for 11 seasons before retiring in 1982. He played minor league baseball in the Pittsburgh Pirates farm system. Inducted into the National High School Hall of Fame in 1982. The basketball team also won a state championship in basketball in 1998. Football In November 2006, the football team made a playoff appearance for the first time since 1987, but suffered a loss to St. Thomas Aquinas High School. Wyandotte's football teams have won the state championship four times, occurring in 1932 (8-0-1 season), 1933 (9-0 co champions), 1941 (10-0 season), and 1951 (9-0 season).

State championships

  • -State Football Championships are not recognized by the KSHSAA prior to 1969. 1969 was the first year that the KSHSAA sponsored the football state championships. Adding the four state football titles would bring Wyandotte's total to 53.

Wyandotte Pup
In the early 1930s, students built a two-seat monoplane aircraft designed by Noel Hockaday. It was called the Wyandotte Pup. The design rights were bought by the Porterfield Aircraft Corporation and the aircraft entered production as the Porterfield Flyabout.

Notable alumni
  • Edward Asner, actor.
  • Dee Wallace, actress.
  • Sunny Kobe Cook, Award-winning entrepreneur, author and motivational speaker.
  • Cheryl Womack, entrepreneur.
  • Lyron Cobbins, former Notre Dame Fighting Irish All-American linebacker.
  • Ray Evans, former NFL player.
  • Lucius Allen, former NBA player for the Seattle SuperSonics, Milwaukee Bucks, Los Angeles Lakers, and Kansas City Kings.
  • Larry Drew, former NBA player for the Detroit Pistons, Kansas City and Sacramento Kings, Los Angeles Clippers and Los Angeles Lakers.
  • Emerson Wilson, Wyandotte's only high school All-American, played in the East-West game at Crump Stadium in Memphis, Tennessee on August 29, 1952.
  • Larry Comley, former NBA player for the Baltimore Bullets.
  • Pierre Russell, former ABA player for the Kentucky Colonels.
  • Martez Young, University of Missouri football and track star, 3x Kansas State champion in the 100 meter dash, University of Missouri school record holder in the indoor 200 meter dash.

State Championships Season Sport Number of Championships Year Fall Football 4* 1932, 1933, 1941, 1951 Cross Country, Boys 1 1965 Winter Swimming and Diving, Boys 7 1934, 1938, 1943, 1944, 1945, 1947, 1968 Basketball, Boys 20 1923, 1930, 1933, 1941, 1955, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1970, 1976, 1984, 1985, 1998 Indoor Track & Field, Boys 8 1958, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1968, 1969, 1974, 1977 Indoor Track & Field, Girls 1 1975 Spring Baseball 4 1953, 1954, 1962, 1964 Track & Field, Boys 7 1931, 1960, 1969, 1977, 1981, 1987, 1992 Track & Field, Girls 1 1988 Total 49