Wuhan Railway Station

The Wuhan Railway Station (Chinese: 武汉站)) is located on the east end of Yangchunhu Lake in Wuhan, China, bordering Qingshan and Hongshan districts, and adjacent to the 3rd Ring Road. It is one of the harbor stations on the Wuhan–Guangzhou high-speed railway. Completed in December, 2009, the station has 11 platforms and 20 tracks. It serves the Beijing-Hong Kong high speed railway, the Shanghai-Wuhan-Chengdu passenger line, and Zhengzhou/Jiujiang-bound passenger trains.


The station was designed by Amenagement, Recherche, Pole d'Echanges (AREP), the Fourth Survey and Design Institute of China, MaP3, and SNCF-IGOA, after winning a two-phase competition in 2005. The design was inspired by the yellow crane, the symbol of Wuhan City. The distinctive roof is intended to resemble the crane's wings, and is based on a sine curve. The building consists of nine separated parts, symbolizing China's nine provinces, plus a central thoroughfare.


Construction of the station began in September 2006, and was completed in December 2009. It was built by China State Construction Engineering Corporation, which also built the Wuhan Airport and the Beijing CCTV building. Construction cost exceeded 14 billion Yuan (US$ 2 billion), including upgrades to surrounding infrastructure.

The total construction area of the station is 370,860 m2 (3,991,900 sq ft), of which the station building has a 114,602 m2 (1,233,570 sq ft) floor area, a 13,324 m2 (143,420 sq ft) elevated pedestrian platform, a 143,664 m2 (1,546,390 sq ft) non-stop pillar canopy, a 60,650 m2 (652,800 sq ft) ground floor, and a 38,620 m2 (415,700 sq ft) ground floor car park. The main arch spans 116 metres and the highest point is 58 metres above the ground.

Image gallery

Building Activity

  • zhang noki
    zhang noki commented
    about 6 years ago via Mobile
  • removed a media
    about 6 years ago via OpenBuildings.com