Wellington Railway Station

Wellington Railway Station is the southern terminus of New Zealand's North Island Main Trunk railway, Wairarapa Line and Johnsonville Line. In terms of number of services and in passenger numbers, it is New Zealand's busiest railway station.

When completed in 1937 the station was New Zealand’s largest building, partly because it was designed to accommodate 675 head office and district office staff. The land upon which it is built is reclaimed, and it was the first major New Zealand structure to incorporate a significant measure of earthquake resistance. It was constructed by Fletcher Building as one of its first major construction projects. It was designed by New Zealander W. Gray Young, famous for his neo-Georgian styles. When it opened in 1937, Wellington's two former stations closed, removing the inconvenience of separate stations for the two routes out of Wellington: Lambton (on 19 June), built by New Zealand Government Railways to serve the Wairarapa line; and Thorndon (on 8 June), built by the Wellington and Manawatu Railway Company to serve what became the North Island Main Trunk via Johnsonville. It has a steel frame encased in reinforced concrete and supported on groups of reinforced concrete piles. Bricks used for the outer cladding are of a special design, with slots to accommodate vertical rods reinforcing the brickwork and binding it to the structural members. It required 1.75 million bricks, plus 1500 tonnes of decorative granite and marble. The station is registered as a Category I Historic Place. The station was used in a 2009 TV advert in the United Kingdom for a train ticketing company, TheTrainLine, where a large flock of sheep use the station facilities.

It was built to accommodate the head office of the New Zealand Railways Department and is the head office of its successor, the KiwiRail, which occupies the east wing, Victoria University of Wellington the west wing. On 4 December 2006 the New World Railway Metro supermarket opened on the ground floor. This coincided with considerable renovation of the station's interior and exterior, and the closure of the Railway Kiosk and the American Hotdog vendor.

The station copes with large daily passenger numbers with very little alteration having proved necessary. In its first year, 7,600 passengers made 15,200 trips on 140 trains daily. Today, 22,000 passengers make 44,000 trips on 390 trains, excluding long-distance services.

The following services use the station;
  • Tranz Metro suburban trains to Johnsonville, Hutt Valley and Kapiti
  • Tranz Metro Wairarapa Connection to Masterton
  • Tranz Scenic Capital Connection to Palmerston North
  • Tranz Scenic Overlander long-distance train to Auckland

The following bus services use the station's platform 9;
  • Interislander's bus shuttles to the ferry terminal
  • Intercity and Newmans long-distance coaches

Bus Terminal
The bus terminal, formerly called Lambton Interchange, is served by most Wellington bus routes and is connected to Wellington Station by a subway under Featherston St. The following bus routes serve the bus terminal;
  • 1: Island Bay ( Trolleybus service)
  • 2: Miramar (Trolleybus service)
  • 3: Karori-Lyall Bay (Selected services only; Trolleybus service)
  • 4: Happy Valley
  • 5: Hataitai (Limited service; Trolleybus service)
  • 6: Lyall Bay (Limited service; Trolleybus service)
  • 7: Kingston (Trolleybus service)
  • 8: Kowhai Park
  • 9: Aro Street (Trolleybus service)
  • 10: Newtown Park (Trolleybus service)
  • 11: Seatoun (Trolleybus service)
  • 14: Wilton-Kilbirnie
  • 17: Victoria University
  • 20: Mount Victoria
  • 21: Wrights Hill-Vogeltown
  • 22: Mairangi-Southgate
  • 23: Mairangi-Southgate/Houghton Bay
  • 24: Miramar Heights via Evans Bay
  • 25: Strathmore (Blue Route)
  • 30: Seatoun Express
  • 31: Miramar Express
  • 32: Island Bay Express
  • 43: Khandallah - Strathmore
  • 44: Khandallah - Strathmore
  • 45: Khandallah via Ngaio
  • 46: Broadmeadows
  • 54: Churton Park
  • 55: Grenada Village
  • 56: Newlands
  • 57: Woodridge (Limited service)
  • 59: Johnsonville - Porirua (Selected services only)
  • 80: Wainuiomata
  • 81: Eastbourne
  • 83: Eastbourne via Lower Hutt
  • 84: Gracefield
  • 85: Eastbourne Express
  • 91: Airport Flyer