Victory Field

Coordinates: 39°45′54″N 86°10′6″W / 39.765°N 86.16833°W / 39.765; -86.16833

Victory Field is the name of the current minor league baseball park that is the home of the Indianapolis Indians of the International League. It is located in Indianapolis, Indiana.

It opened in mid-summer 1996 and replaced Bush Stadium, which had also been called Victory Field for some 25 years of its existence. The new park seated 15,000 fans when it was originally opened, however a 1000 seat bleacher section was removed to make room for a picnic area. There are currently 12,496 permanent seats and room for approximately 2000 more fans on the outfield lawn, though on popular days such as the 4th of July, it is not uncommon to total over 15,000 with SRO seats.

The name reflects the victory of the United States in World War II.

Victory Field is considered one of the finest facilities in all of Minor league baseball. It has been recognized as the "Best Minor League Ballpark in America" by Baseball America and Sports Illustrated.

Victory Field shares the limelight with the neighboring Lucas Oil Stadium, Conseco Fieldhouse, the Indiana University Natatorium, and the Michael E. Carroll Track & Soccer Stadium.

Building Activity

  • OpenBuildings
    OpenBuildings updated a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via Annotator
  • OpenBuildings
    OpenBuildings updated a digital reference and added a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via