University of Television and Film Munich

Edit profile

The University of Television and Film Munich (German: Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München, HFF Munich) is a publicly funded film school in Munich, Germany. The school was established in 1966 by decree of the Bavarian government. The University of Television and Film Munich is one of Germany's most reputable film schools with about 350 students enrolled. Currently a new building in Munich city centre is being built to which the school will be moving in 2010. The school celebrated its 40th anniversary in November 2007.


Application deadline is February 28th of any calendar year. The examination questions for new applicants can be downloaded or ordered by mail from the 15th of November. The teacher to student ratio is about 1:9, the staff to student ratio is approximately 1:4.

  • Department III - Film and Television Drama Directing (7-9 places)
    • Department III/K - Cinematography/Fiction (2-4 places)
    • Department III/D - Screenwriting/Fiction (2-4 places)
  • Department IV - Documentary Film and Television Reportage Directing (7-9 places)
    • Department IV/K - Cinematography/Documentary (2-4 places)
    • Department IV/D - Screenwriting/Documentary (2-4 places)
  • Department V - Film Production and Media Economics (10-15 places)

All students have to attend classes coordinated by departments I (Media and Communication Studies) and II (Media Technology).

Additionally, students have to choose from interdepartmental lectures in four fields:

  • Creative Writing
  • TV Journalism
  • Advertising

Distinguished Alumni

  • Byambasuren Davaa
  • Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck
  • Doris Dörrie
  • Uli Edel
  • Bernd Eichinger
  • Roland Emmerich
  • Florian Gallenberger
  • Katja von Garnier
  • Mika Kaurismäki
  • Caroline Link
  • Wim Wenders
  • Sönke Wortmann

Building Activity

  • removed a media
    about 6 years ago via