University of Dayton Arena
University of Dayton Arena is a 13,455-seat multi-purpose arena in Dayton, Ohio. The arena opened in 1969. It is home to the University of Dayton Flyers basketball teams. Since 2001, the facility has hosted the annual "play-in" game in the NCAA men's basketball tournament (officially the "opening round" game) which features the teams rated 64th and 65th in the tournament field. The playing court is known as Blackburn Court, named after historic UD coach Tom Blackburn. The Donoher Center expansion on the southwest corner of the Arena was completed in 1998. Named for former Flyers basketball coach Don Donoher, the Center provides an NBA-caliber facility for conditioning and game preparation. The arena was extensively renovated during the summer of 2002. The additions include new and expanded concession areas, luxury boxes, disabled access improvements, and a restaurant/bar named the Time-Warner Flight Deck. Because of this, the venue was awarded the 2003 and 2004 Atlantic Ten Conference men's basketball tournaments. The Arena has been hailed by sportscasters and opponent coaches alike as one of the greatest venues in college basketball. Since its opening in 1969, over 14 million visitors have witnessed events at the Arena. In 2002, the Arena was the site of the first ever high-definition television ( HDTV) broadcast for ESPN.

Arena Attendance
As of 2010, the University of Dayton has ranked in the top 25 in the nation for attendance at the arena 18 times. 10th during 1972, 1974. 17th during 1978. 18th during 2005. 20th during 1979, 1987. 21st during 1985, 1986. 22nd during 1980. 23rd during 2002, 2006. 24th during 1988, 2000, 2001, 2003. 25th during 1981, 1984, 2004.

NCAA basketball tournament hosting
Along with its hosting duties for the NCAA Tournament "play-in" game, the UD Arena also served as the host of the Midwestern Collegiate Conference (now Horizon League) men's basketball conference tournament from 1989-91 and was the host of the Atlantic Ten Basketball tournament in 2003 and 2004. The Arena is scheduled to host the Opening Round game through 2010, and will be a regional venue for the women's tournament in 2010. The University of Dayton Arena will host first- and second-round games of the 2013 NCAA Division I Men's Basketball Tournament as well as the opening-round game of the 2011, 2012 and 2013 tournaments. UD Arena has hosted 83 games in the NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament over its history, tying with Kansas City's Municipal Auditorium as the host of the most NCAA Men's Tournament games.

Building Activity

  • removed a media
    about 6 years ago via