Traverse Theatre
The Traverse Theatre is Scotland's new writing theatre. It is situated in Edinburgh, Scotland and was founded in 1963. The Traverse Theatre commissions and develops new plays or adaptations from contemporary playwrights. It also presents a large number of productions from visiting companies from across the UK. These include new plays, adaptations, dance, physical theatre, puppetry and contemporary music. The Traverse is a pivotal venue in Edinburgh and this is particularly the case during the Edinburgh Festivals in August ”“ positioned as it is between the Edinburgh Festival Fringe and the Edinburgh International Festival. The Traverse is also the home of the Manipulate Visual Theatre Festival, the Bank of Scotland Imaginate Festival and the Traverse’s own Autumn Festival.

Artistic Directors
Terry Lane (Dec 1962 ”“ Jan 1964) Callum Mill (Jan 1964 - Aug 1964) Jim Haynes (Aug 1964 ”“ July 1966) Gordon McDougall (July 1966 - Dec 1969) Max Stafford-Clark (Dec 1967 - Dec 1969) Michael Rudman (Feb 1970 ”“ Feb 1973) Mike Ockrent (Mar 1973 ”“ Sep 1975) Chris Parr (Sep 1975 ”“ Mar 1981) Peter Lichtenfels (Apr 1981 - Aug 1985) Jenny Killick (Sep 1985 - Dec 1988) Iain Brown (Jan 1989 - Aug 1996) Philip Howard (Sep 1953 - Dec 2007) Dominic Hill (Jan 2008 ”“ present)

The Traverse Theatre began as a theatre club in 15 James Court, Lawnmarket, Edinburgh, a former doss house and brothel also known as Kelly’s Paradise and Hell’s Kitchen. It was “a long , low-ceilinged first-floor room barely 15ft wide by 8ft high” with 60 seats salvaged from the Palace Cinema placed in two blocks on either side of the stage. The theatre is named because Terry Lane mistakenly believed that the staging arrangement is called ‘traverse’; he later realised that it is ‘transverse’ but it was already too well known to change it. In its first year of operation, a Theatre Conference was organised by director Jim Haynes, John Calder and Kenneth Tynan and including a Happening involving Allan Kaprow among others. The first performance was on 2 Jan 1963. By the end of the 1960s, following a surveyor’s report in March 1969 which stated where the internal floors of James Court were unsafe, the Traverse moved to a former sailmakers’s loft at 112 West Bow, Grassmarket, in the east end of the Grassmarket. This larger space had a 100 seat theatre with flexible seating configurations. The first performance in this venue was on 24 Aug 1969. In its early days the theatre included exhibition space for the visual arts, until 1966 when the administrators for that space - including Richard Demarco - moved away to establish what became the Richard Demarco Gallery.

Current Traverse Theatre Building
In 1992, the Traverse moved to its current location, 10 Cambridge Street. A £3.3 million purpose-built two theatre space with bar café created as part of Saltire Court development on Castle Terrace. The theatre’s first performance at this location was on 3 July 1992. Traverse 1 is the larger space with flexible seating that can be moved to create many different configurations (e.g. transverse, end on, in the round, etc.). The most common configuration is ‘end on’ and has 216 seats. Traverse 2 is the smaller studio space. New flexible seating was installed in September 2005 to allow for different staging configurations and the average capacity is approximately 100 seats.

The Traverse and the Edinburgh Festivals
The Traverse Theatre was founded in 1963 by John Calder, Jim Haynes and Richard Demarco with the mission of continuing the spirit of the Edinburgh Festivals all year round. During the Festivals in August, the Traverse continues to present cutting edge new writing, as well as new work of all kinds to an international audience. The Traverse is occasionally referred to as 'The Fringe venue that got away', reflecting its current status as a permanent and integral part of the Edinburgh arts scene throughout the year. Today the month of August remains the busiest time for the Traverse. During the 2010 Edinburgh Festival Fringe, the Traverse played host to 18 shows. In a first for Scottish theatre, a series of specially commissioned rehearsed readings by Enda Walsh, Linda McLean, David Eldridge, Simon Stephens and Marina Carr were broadcast live on the 23 August 2010 to cinemas across the UK. One third of 2010 Scotsman Fringe First Award Winners were shows performed at the Traverse. The Guardian theatre critic Lyn Gardner has described the Traverse’s programme as, “The backbone to the Fringe programme. What you see there will often set the tone and tenor of the rest of the Fringe.”

Notable Associations
From its conception in 1963, the Traverse Theatre has launched the careers of many of Scotland’s best-known writers including John Byrne, Gregory Burke, David Greig, David Harrower and Liz Lochhead. During the 1960s Richard Wilson was a regular performer. Throughout the 1970s the Traverse Theatre became a mecca for actors, including Timothy Dalton, Billy Connelly, Robbie Coltraine, Simon Callow, Bill Patterson and Stephen Berkoff. In 1978 David Hayman famously directed John Byrne’s Slab Boys which featured Robbie Coltraine. Tilda Swinton and Forbes Masson memorably performed during the 1980s and Steve Unwin directed Alan Cummings in a 1988 production of The Conquest of the South Pole. Ashley Jensen and Bill Nighy began their acting careers at the Traverse. Many of the theatre’s sponsored seats have personalised plaques, including Robbie Coltrane’s “This is a no farting zone” and Tom Conti’s “In memory of my longest dry”.

  • At the second Traverse performance, on 3 January 1963, lead actress Colette O’Neill was accidentally stabbed on stage with a paperknife and almost bled to death.
  • Throughout 1965 the Traverse Theatre Club was threatened with police raids due to open homosexual activity in a time when it was illegal.
  • At the 1967 Edinburgh Festival, twenty-two Traverse Theatre shows were performed; including Futz which the Daily Express described as “Filth on the Fringe” and Jarry’s Ubu in Clains which featured Ma and Pa Ubu as 6’ tall sexual organs.
  • At a meeting in 1971 Artistic Director Michael Rudman persuaded the Edinburgh Corporation to increase the Traverse grant but refused to give any assurances on the ‘decency’ of future productions.

Class Act, Young Writers' Group and Scribble
The Traverse’s work with young people encourages playwriting through its flagship education project Class Act, as well as the Young Writers’ Group. Class Act celebrated its 21st year in 2011 and gives school pupils the opportunity to develop their plays with professional playwrights and work with directors and actors to see the finished piece performed on stage at the Traverse. The Young Writers’ Group is open to new writers aged 18”“25. A new project, Scribble, offers an after-school playwriting and theatre skills workshop for 14”“17-year-olds. Both programmes are led by professional playwrights. The Young Writers Group is open to new writers aged 18”“25 and runs for cycles of two years, and writers who have graduated from the group to write professionally include Sam Holcroft, Morna Pearson and Catherine Grosvenor.


2 photos