The Waterworks MuseumEdit profile
A museum is housed in part of the disused Friedrichshagen waterworks on the banks of Müggelsee Lake, which is unique for Berlin - the Waterworks Museum of the Berliner Wasserbetriebe.
This is where documents and objects are collected, made accessible and exhibited as witnesses of the history of Berlin’s water supply and municipal drainage. An ideal combination of nature, historical architecture and engineering as well as a museum display can be experienced at an original location.
Friedrichshagen waterworks started operations in 1893 as Berlin’s third municipal waterworks. At the time, it was the largest and most modern works in Europe where Henry Gill, the English engineer and first director of the municipal waterworks, worked together with the architect and municipal master builder Richard Schultze, who created the buildings in the forms of traditional Brandenburg brick buildings.
Description by Waterworks Museum, Berlin