Technical University of Munich

Edit profile
Technical University of Munich

The Technische Universität München (TUM; University of Technology, Munich; Technical University of Munich) is a research university with campuses in Munich, Garching, and Weihenstephan. It is a member of TU9, an incorporated society of the most renowned and largest German Institutes of Technology.

  • 1868 University founded by King Ludwig II.
  • 1877 Awarded the designation Technische Hochschule.
  • 1901 Granted the right to award doctorates.
  • 1902 Approval of the election of the Principal by the teaching staff.
  • 1930 Integration of the College of Agriculture and Brewing in Weihenstephan.
  • 1949–1954: Reconstruction of the main building of the Technische Universität by Robert Vorhoelzer after WWII. Construction of a new administrational building and library.
  • 1957 Given the status of a ‘public legal body’.
  • 1958 Research Reactor Munich (FRM), Garching officially assigned to the TH München.
  • 1967 Establishment of a faculty of medicine
  • 1970 Renamed to ‘Technische Universität München’.
  • 2000 Establishment of Weihenstephan Science Centre for Life & Food Sciences, Land Use and Environment (WZW) belonging to the TUM.
  • 2002 The German Institute of Science and Technology founded in Singapore.
  • 2004 Official opening of Forschungsreaktor München II, a leading neutron source, on March 2.
  • 2006 TUM one of three successful universities in Germany's excellence initiative
  • 2009 TUM School of Education established

The TUM, like many German universities, is a “non campus” university. However, with further expansion plans for the Garching site, more and more departments are to be placed into new buildings in Garching. The Garching campus, unlike the downtown area, is set up more like a traditional “quadrangle” style campus with a large grouping of buildings. At the moment, university buildings are spread over four main and several minor locations:

  • Main campus in downtown Munich
  • Garching (Mathematics, Computer Science, Physics, Chemistry, Mechanical Engineering, neutron source); on the same campus, there are also several other research institutes
  • Weihenstephan (Center for Life and Food Science)
  • Hospital “Klinikum Rechts der Isar” (Medicine), Munich
  • Chair of Land Management "((Lehrstuhl für Bodenordnung und Landentwicklung))"
TUM Extended Board of Management

The Extended Board of Management advises the Executive Board of Management and assists in discharging its duties. Alongside the Chief Executives (President, Chancellor, Vice Presidents), it consists of the Department Deans, the Speaker for the Central Scientific Institutions and the Speaker for the Deans of Studies.

TUM Supervisory Board

The TUM Supervisory Board is the TUM's monitoring body and steering committee, comprising the members of the Senate and the External University Council. The External University Council comprises eight high-ranking representatives from the fields of science, culture, industry and politics. Current members include:

  • Susanne Klatten, Member of the Supervisory Board, Altana, BMW AG

In 2011 TUM has approx. 26,100 students in undergraduate and graduate programs, of which 4,500 are foreign students.


TUM has 461 professors, 5,564 academic and 3,032 non-academic staff.

TUM is divided into 13 departments:

  • Architecture
  • Business Administration
  • Chemistry
  • Civil Engineering and Surveying
  • Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • Informatics (Computer Science)
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Medicine, including the university hospital “Rechts der Isar”
  • Physics
  • Sports Science
  • Weihenstephan Center for Life and Food Science
  • Education
Academic reputation
International rankings

TUM was ranked 2nd in Germany, 15th in Europe and 56th in the world in 2010 by the Academic Ranking of World Universities. In the same year, it was ranked 2nd in Germany, 16th in Europe and 58th in the world (overall) and in Engineering & Technology 1st in Germany, 9th in Europe and 36th in the world by the QS World University Rankings. In 2010 Times Higher Education World University Rankings ranked Technical University Munich 4th in Germany, 29th in Europe and 101st in the world.

Subject ranking among top German universities

TUM is highly ranked by DAAD on the subject-specific ranking system, in which, universities are shown in alphabetical order in ranking groups (Top Group, Middle Group, Final Group or Not Ranked). The best universities concerning a certain subfield, are found in Top Group; while the worst ones lie in Final Group. Generally, two to four universities are in Top Group.

  • Architecture (top)
  • Biochemistry (no info)
  • Biology (middle)
  • Business Administration (top)
  • Business Computing (not ranked)
  • Chemistry (top)
  • Civil Engineering (top)
  • Computer Science (top)
  • Electrical and Information Engineering (top)
  • Food Chemistry (no info)
  • Geoscience (top)
  • Human Medicine (middle)
  • Mathematics (top)
  • Mechanical Engineering (top)
  • Physics (top)
  • Process and Chemical Engineering (top)

TUM features a strong, characteristic profile in the fields of Science and Engineering. Alongside the traditional key areas addressed by technical universities, powerful links have been also established with the life sciences, ranging from nutrition and food sciences, biotechnology and bioinformatics to medicine. Much of its innovative research and teaching has emerged from collaborations between the disciplines.

Major award laureates
Nobel Prize
  • 1927 Heinrich Otto Wieland (faculty 1913-21), Chemistry
  • 1929 Thomas Mann (student), Literature
  • 1930 Hans Fischer (faculty 1921-1945), Chemistry
  • 1961 Rudolf L. Mößbauer, Physics (“Mößbauer effect”)
  • 1964 Feodor Lynen, Medicine or Physiology
  • 1964 Konrad Emil Bloch, Medicine or Physiology
  • 1973 Ernst Otto Fischer, Chemistry (Sandwich complexes)
  • 1985 Klaus von Klitzing, Physics (Quantum-Hall effect)
  • 1986 Ernst Ruska, Physics (electron microscope)
  • 1988 Johann Deisenhofer, Chemistry
  • 1988 Robert Huber, Chemistry
  • 1989 Wolfgang Paul, Physics (ion trap)
  • 1991 Erwin Neher, Medicine or Physiology
  • 2007 Gerhard Ertl, Chemistry

TUM's first spin-off is the German Institute of Science and Technology (GIST), located in Singapore (together with National University of Singapore and Nanyang Technological University).

TUM has currently over 130 international partnerships, among them:

  • École Centrale Paris, TU Eindhoven, Technical University of Denmark, Technical University of Vienna,
  • MIT, Stanford University, University of Illinois, Cornell University, University of Texas at Austin, Georgia Tech
  • National University of Singapore, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Tsinghua University, University of Tokyo,
  • University of Melbourne, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, Sirindhorn International Institute of Technology, and many others.

TUM is also a partner of LAOTSE, an international network for student and senior lecturers among leading European and Asian universities, as well as a member of the TIME network (Top Industrial Managers for Europe).

Building Activity

  • removed 2 media
    about 6 years ago via