Surrey Quays tube station

Coordinates: 51°29′37″N 0°02′50″W / 51.49358°N 0.04717°W / 51.49358; -0.04717

Surrey Quays railway station is a railway station in Rotherhithe near Southwark Park. It is in Zone 2, on the East London Line. The next station to the north is Canada Water, and to the south it splits into branches to New Cross Gate and New Cross. Closed in late 2007, the station was refurbished and re-opened as part of the London Overground network on 27 April 2010.


The station was built by the East London Railway Company and opened on 7 December 1869; it was originally known as Deptford Road. On 17 July 1911, it was renamed Surrey Docks in reference to the nearby, now closed, Surrey Commercial Docks, and further renamed Surrey Quays on 24 October 1989, following the construction of the nearby Surrey Quays Shopping Centre. This was a somewhat controversial move as some of the local community felt that their heritage was being eroded. However, the name stuck, and the Surrey Docks part of Rotherhithe is now often referred to as Surrey Quays.

Surrey Quays was intended to be taken over by the Jubilee Line, then the Fleet Line, down to New Cross, New Cross Gate and Lewisham, but this never materialised.

For much of its history, the station's importance lay in its proximity to the Surrey Commercial Docks; it was at the south end of Canada Dock (now Canada Water) and a few hundred yards from the principal entrance to the docks. Its usage fell considerably after the docks closed, but revived following the redevelopment of the London Docklands in the 1980s and 1990s.

The service was closed between 1995 and 1998 due to repair work on the East London Line's Thames Tunnel. The East London Line closed permanently as an Underground line on 22 December 2007. It reopened for preview services on 27 April 2010 to New Cross and New Cross Gate and 23 May 2010 for full service to New Cross, West Croydon and Crystal Palace, becoming part of the London Overground system.


All times below are correct as of the December 2010 timetables.

London Overground

Mondays to Saturdays there is a service every 5-10 minutes throughout the day, while on Sundays before 13:00 there is a service every 5-9 minutes, changing to every 7-8 minutes until the end of service after that. Current off peak frequency is:

  • 8 Northbound to Highbury & Islington
  • 4 Northbound to Dalston Junction
  • 4 Southbound to West Croydon
  • 4 Southbound to Crystal Palace
  • 4 Southbound to New Cross

From 2012, 4 additional trains per hour will go to Clapham Junction via Peckham Rye on the new Clapham Junction Extension, due to open in May that year.

Transport links

London bus routes 1, 47, 188, 199, 225, 381, and night routes N47 and N381, pass nearby.

Future developments

London Overground plans to create a new branch along the existing South London Line with a new terminus at Clapham Junction. The extension is set to be completed in the summer of 2012.



2 photos

Building Activity

  • removed 2 media
    about 6 years ago via