Stade Félix Bollaert

Stade Félix Bollaert is the main football stadium in Lens, France, that was built in 1932. It is the home of RC Lens. The stadium's capacity is 41,233 – about 4,000 more than the city's population. This is similar to that of SC Heerenveen ground the Abe Lenstra Stadion which has a bigger capacity than Heerenveen itself. It owes its name to Commercial Director of the Compagnie des Mines de Lens who was anxious to promote the development of sports clubs in the city and decided the construction in 1931, though he died shortly before the stadium's inauguration.


The stadium has hosted matches in the following major international tournaments:

  • 1984 European Championship
  • 1998 FIFA World Cup
  • 1999 Rugby World Cup
  • 2007 Rugby World Cup

Bollaert is constructed in the English style with four separate stands dedicated respectively to:

  • Henri Trannin: native of Bully-les-Mines, Goalkeeper at the club for 18 years, sports director for Lens from 1952 to 1956, passing away in July 1974; it was dedicated on 4 December 1976
  • Tony Marek, former player and coach, international in the 50's
  • Élie Delacourt, former fans' group president;
  • Max Lepagnot, former president of the district of Artois.

All parts of the stadium contain seating. However, most supporters in the Marek stand as it is considered the kop. As in many other stadiums, the most fervent fans tend to sit behind the nets.