St George's Cathedral, Southwark

Edit profile
St George's Cathedral, Southwark

St George's Cathedral, Southwark, is a Roman Catholic cathedral in the Archdiocese of Southwark, south London.

The cathedral is the Mother Church of the Roman Catholic Province of Southwark which covers the Archdiocese of Southwark (all of London south of the River Thames including Kent and north Surrey) and the Dioceses of Arundel and Brighton, Portsmouth, and Plymouth.

Opened in 1848, St George's became in 1850 the first Roman Catholic church raised to cathedral status since the English Reformation. It was designed by Augustus Pugin, famous for his work with Charles Barry on the design of the rebuilt Houses of Parliament. Pugin was the first person to be married in the cathedral on 10 August 1848 to his third wife Jane. The cathedral was badly bombed during World War II and the rebuilt cathedral was opened in 1958.

The cathedral has a fine established choral tradition, with a Cathedral Choir of boys and men which sings at the 11.30am Solemn Mass every Sunday and on major Feast Days, with a repertoire that encompasses Tudor Polyphony, Gregorian Chant, Baroque, and contemporary composers such as Arvo Pärt, William Mathias, and James MacMillan. The choir has also broadcast on Radio 4 and BBC 1 television in the UK and on BBC Prime around the world. The Men of the Cathedral Choir are notable exponents of the performance of Gregorian Chant, many of them having studied at Solesmes in France. The Cathedral's Director of Music, Nick Gale, an Oxford graduate, is himself a pupil of Dom Daniel Saulnier of Solesmes and the Pontifical Institute of Music in Rome. The Cathedral also has a Girls' Choir, run by the sub-organist Norman Harper, which sings at the 10 am Mass on Sundays.

The cathedral is situated opposite the Imperial War Museum on Lambeth Road in London (on the corner with St George's Road). In Westminster Bridge Road, close by to the north, is St George's Cathedral Roman Catholic Primary School.

Each summer, the cathedral is used by London South Bank University for its graduation ceremonies.