Saint Petersburg Conservatory

The N. A. Rimsky-Korsakov Saint Petersburg State Conservatory (Russian: Санкт-Петербургская государственная консерватория имени Н. А. Римского-Корсакова) is a music school in Saint Petersburg. In 2004, the conservatory had around 275 faculty members and 1,400 students.


The conservatory was founded in 1862 by the Russian pianist and composer Anton Rubinstein. On his resignation in 1867, he was succeeded by Nikolai Zaremba. Rimsky-Korsakov joined the faculty in 1871 and the conservatory has borne his name since 1944. In 1887, Rubinstein returned to the Conservatory with the goal of improving overall standards. He removed inferior students, fired and demoted many professors, made entrance and examination requirements more stringent, and revised the curriculum. In 1891, he resigned again over the Imperial demand of racial quotas.

The current building was erected in the 1890s on the site of the old Bolshoi Theatre of Saint Petersburg and still preserves the grand staircase and landing from that historic theatre. As the city changed its name in the 20th century, the conservatory was duly renamed Petrograd Conservatory (Петроградская консерватория) and Leningrad Conservatory (Ленинградская консерватория).

Today, it is a renowned Russian composition school whose graduates have included such notable composers as Pyotr Tchaikovsky, Sergei Prokofiev, Dmitri Shostakovich, Artur Kapp, and Rudolf Tobias. The youngest musician ever admitted to the Conservatory was five-year old violinist Clara Rockmore, who later became one of the world's foremost theremin players. During the 1960s, Shostakovich taught at the conservatory, which brought it additional fame. Amongst his pupils were German Okunev and Boris Tishchenko.

Directors and rectors
Notable faculty
Notable graduates
  • George Balanchine – choreographer
  • Richard Burgin - violinist, conductor
  • Alexander K.Borovsky – pianist
  • Leonid Desyatnikov - composer
  • Sergei Diaghilev - impressario
  • Heino Eller - composer
  • Valery Gergiev - conductor
  • Jascha Heifetz - violinist
  • Alexander Ilyinsky
  • Anatoli Ivanov- composer, conductor, percussionist
  • Mariss Jansons - conductor
  • Alfrēds Kalniņš - composer, organist
  • Artur Kapp - composer
  • Yuri Khanon - composer, writer, laureate of the European Film Awards.
  • Eduard Khil - singer and internet sensation
  • Miroslav Kultyshev
  • Anatoly Lyadov
  • Witold Maliszewski
  • Nathan Milstein - violinist
  • Anna Netrebko
  • Nevsky String Quartet
  • Nikolai Obukhov - composer
  • Leo Ornstein - composer
  • Sergei Prokofiev - composer
  • Sergei Rachmaninoff - pianist, composer
  • Clara Rockmore
  • Dmitri Shostakovich - composer
  • Grigory Sokolov - pianist
  • Vladimir Sofronitsky - pianist
  • Yuri Temirkanov - conductor
  • Léon Theremin
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky - composer
  • Solomon Volkov - musicologist
  • Ivan Yershov - singer
  • Anna Yesipova - pianist
  • Maria Yudina - pianist
  • Valery Viktorovich Zhelobinsky - pianist, composer
  • Sasha Mäkilä - a Finnish conductor
  • Gagik Gaboyan - Bassoon
  • Gal Rasché - conductor
  • Aleksandra Kroutikova - singer

Building Activity

  • Georgi Sokolov
    Georgi Sokolov updated 3 digital references and updated
    about 6 years ago via
  • updated a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via