The Ryan House is a historic home in Sumner, Washington, USA. Originally a one-room cabin built by Fred Seaman, George Ryan, who became Sumner's first mayor in 1891, bought the property in 1872. Ryan added on to the house in 1875 and 1885. Ryan's family donated the property to be used as the Sumner Public Library in 1926. The building housed the Sumner Public Library from 1926 to 1979, and now houses the Sumner Historical Society.Sources
- Roberts, George; Roberts, Jan (1999). Discover Historic Washington State, Gem Guides Book Company, ISBN 1889786071.
- Ryan, Amy M., The Sumner Story, copyright 1988, Sumner Historical Society