Royal Commonwealth Pool
The Royal Commonwealth Pool is a Grade-A listed building in Scotland that houses the main swimming pool in Edinburgh. The pool is currently being refurbished.

An Olympic-size swimming pool, the Royal Commonwealth Pool was designed by Robert Matthew and Stirrat Johnson-Marshall of RMJM; construction began in 1967, costing $3.84 million. In January 1970, the pool was completed in time for the year's Commonwealth Games, and used again in the 1986 games. The pool will be the official training site for British swimmers of the 2012 London Olympics and the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. Diving competitions for the Glasgow games will also be hosted at the pool.

Architectural award nominations
In 1993 it was selected by the international conservation organisation DoCoMoMo as one of sixty key Scottish monuments of the post-war period. It was also nominated in 2002 by the Architecture Heritage Society of Scotland as one of the most significant modern contributions to Scottish heritage. These sentiments were echoed in Prospect 100 best modern Scottish buildings, published in 2005.

On 28 June 2009, the pool was closed to the public to begin a two year refurbishment program to rectify unsuitable facilities. The project, led by engineer Buro Happold, began on 3 August 2009, costing approximately £37.18 million, and is including new 25 metres (82 ft) diving and teaching pools as well as improvements to the changing rooms, café, reception, and the main pool. It is expected to be finished by summer 2011.


2 photos

Building Activity

  • OpenBuildings
    OpenBuildings updated 9 media and uploaded a media file
    tzgc royal commonwealth pool
    about 6 years ago via