Pennington Field
Pennington Field is a multi-purpose stadium located in Bedford, Texas. The 12,000-capacity facility is primarily used for local high school football teams Trinity High School and L.D. Bell High School. It is owned by the Hurst-Euless-Bedford Independent School District. The stadium is also used for soccer and is located at 1501 Central Dr. in Bedford, just south of Airport Freeway. In addition to high school sports, Pennington Field is used by the DFW Tornados of the USL PDL, the American Eightman Football League (AEFL) , and the Red River Bowl for NJCAA. The stadium opened in 1987 as a state-of-the-art venue that would host not only football games, but soccer games and special events as well. The artificial turf field is specially engineered to allow for proper drainage. Pennington Field is still well-known in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex as one of the most advanced and high-quality high school sports stadiums in the area. In June 2010, the stadium's playing surface was replaced with a new Hellas Matrix turf. The name "Pennington Field" was first given to an existing football field near what was then L. D. Bell High School (now the site of Central Junior High). The field was named for Fred Pennington, the L.D. Bell High School football coach, after his accidental death in 1962.

Trivia
  • Pennington Field does not have a track around the field, partly because the city of Bedford has an ordinance requiring all tracks to be open to the public. The result is that the seats are closer to the sidelines, creating a more intimate spectator experience.


Media

2 photos