Pearse MuseumEdit profile
The Pearse Museum ( Irish: Músaem na bPiarsach) is dedicated to the memory of Patrick Pearse and his brother, William. Patrick Pearse was an educationalist and nationalist who was executed for his part in the 1916 Rising. It is situated in the suburb of Rathfarnham on the south side of Dublin, Ireland. It was formerly an Irish speaking school named St. Enda's. Originally Pearse's school was set up in Ranelagh on the 8th of September 1908. It moved to Rathfarnham in 1910. Unfortunately after Pearse was executed for his part take in the 1916 rising, and due to decreasing numbers and increasing financial worries, the school had to close in 1935. James Brennan bought the house in 1947 but later transferred it to Colonel Brennan who donated it to the State. Padraig Pearse's sister (Margaret Pearse) died in 1968. St. Enda's and it's grounds were managed by Colonel Brennan from 1947 till 1973. In 1973 the Board of Works took over the management. The school house is now a Museum devoted to the Pearse brothers. The Museum contains reconstructions of many of the original rooms, including Pearse's study, the family sitting room, the school art gallery, the school museum and one of the dormitories. There is also a gallery devoted exclusively to the sculpture of William Pearse. Visitors can also visit a nature study room in the courtyard behind the school house where examples of Irish plants and animals can be found. The museum is an 18th century house situated in scenic parkland. The museum was closed for renovations in May 2006 and re-opened to the public on 28 November 2008. The museum is open seven days a week and admission is free.