New Bedford Fire Museum

Coordinates: 41°37′42″N 70°55′36″W / 41.62822°N 70.92669°W / 41.62822; -70.92669

The New Bedford Fire Museum is located in the former Fire Station No. 4 at the corner of Sixth and Bedford streets in that city in the U.S. state of Massachusetts. The red brick building, opened in 1867, was one of the oldest continuously operating fire stations in the state when it was closed in 1979. In 1975 it was added to the National Register of Historic Places. The museum was opened the following year.

The museum has a collection of old firefighting equipment and some old fire engines. Visitors can try on old uniforms and slide down the pole. Old city fire records dating to 1890 are available for research and review. Retired and active city firefighters act as docents.

Rain damage to the station's roof recently required the closing and renovation of the museum's second story. It reopened in July 2008.

Building Activity

  • OpenBuildings
    OpenBuildings updated a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via Annotator
  • OpenBuildings
    OpenBuildings updated a digital reference and added a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via OpenBuildings.com