Neues Museum, museum island

Israel’s Wolf Foundation announced that British architect David Chipperfield is being recognized for overseeing the reconstruction of Berlin’s Neues Museum in a building that had been abandoned since World War II. His new building incorporated bricks, stairs and bullet holes from the original museum, which opened in 1855. Click above image to enlarge
Main Entrance Hall at the Neues Museum in Berlin, Germany by David Chipperfield Architects (Photo: Fabrizio Bensch) The other Wolf Prize laureate, American architect Peter Eisenman, designed the Holocaust Memorial in Berlin, inaugurated in 2005. The foundation says Eisenman’s work “provides a new paradigm for memorialization.” The winners will share the $100,000 award.
Looking over the Memorial to the murdered Jews of Europe towards the Tiergarten in Berlin, Germany by Eisenman Architects The Wolf Foundation says 38 past winners have gone on to win Nobel prizes. The winners will receive the awards in a ceremony on May 13. The Wolf Foundation was founded by the late German-born Dr. Ricardo Wolf, an inventor, philanthropist and former Cuban ambassador to Israel. The private nonprofit foundation’s council is chaired by Israel’s education minister.


40 photos

Building Activity

  • Nadezhda Nikolova
    Nadezhda Nikolova updated 3 digital references and updated
    about 6 years ago via