Muscle Shoals Sound Studio
The Muscle Shoals Sound Studio was formed in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, in 1969 when musicians Barry Beckett (keyboards), Roger Hawkins (drums), Jimmy Johnson (guitar) and David Hood (bass) (called The Swampers) left FAME Studios to create their own studio. The Muscle Shoals Sound Rhythm Section, as they became known, was the first rhythm section to own its own studio and, eventually, its own publishing and production companies. The distinctive accompaniment and arrangements have been heard on a tremendous number of legendary recordings, including those from Wilson Pickett, Aretha Franklin, and the Staple Singers amongst others. The original rhythm section that broke away to create these studios first formed in 1967 and initially played sessions in New York and Nashville as well as on the famous FAME recordings. The initial successes led to the arrival of more mainstream rock and pop performers among them The Rolling Stones, Traffic, Elton John, Boz Scaggs, Willie Nelson, Paul Simon, Bob Dylan, Dr. Hook, Elkie Brooks, Millie Jackson and Julian Lennon. Muscle Shoals Sound Studios is located at 3614 Jackson Highway and is Listed on The National Register of Historic Places. Muscle Shoals Sound Studios is a Registered Trademark of Noel Webster U.S.P.T.O. Reg.NO. 3,391,981

Selected recordings

Song Artist Date Charting on US Pop chart Notes Take a Letter, Maria R.B. Greaves Aug. 1969 #2 Brown Sugar Rolling Stones Dec. 1969 (Released 1971) #1 Wild Horses Rolling Stones Dec. 1969 (Released 1971) #28 I'll Take You There The Staple Singers 1972 #1 Kodachrome Paul Simon 1973 #2 Loves Me Like a Rock Paul Simon 1973 #2 Katmandu Bob Seger 1975 #43 Mainstreet Bob Seger 1976 #24 (in 1977) Old Time Rock and Roll Bob Seger 1978 #28 (in 1979) Gotta Serve Somebody Bob Dylan 1979 #24 1980 Grammy winner Pleasure And Pain Dr. Hook & The Medicine Show 1978 Sometimes You Win Dr. Hook & The Medicine Show 1979 Valotte Julian Lennon January 1985 #9 Brothers The Black Keys 2010 2011 Grammy winner