Mtatsminda Pantheon

The Mtatsminda Pantheon of Writers and Public Figures (Georgian: მთაწმინდის მწერალთა და საზოგადო მოღვაწეთა პანთეონი) is a necropolis in Tbilisi, Georgia, where some of the most prominent writers, artists, scholars, and national heroes of Georgia are buried. It is located in the churchyard around St. David’s Church "Mamadaviti" on the slope of Mount Mtatsminda (Geo. მთაწმინდა, meaning the Holy Mountain) and was officially established in 1929.

The first celebrities to be buried at this place were the Russian writer Alexander Griboyedov (1795–1829) and his Georgian wife Nino Chavchavadze (1812–1857). The Pantheon was officially opened in 1929 to celebrate a 100-year anniversary of Griboyedov’s death in Iran. Since then, several illustrious Georgians have been buried or reburied there. The Pantheon is administered by the Municipality of Tbilisi and is frequented by locals as well as the city’s visitors.

List of people buried at the Mtatsminda Pantheon
  • Vaso Abashidze (1854–1962), Georgian theater actor and director
  • Veriko Anjaparidze (1897–1987), Georgian theater and movie actress
  • Nikoloz Baratashvili (1817–1845), Georgian romanticist poet
  • Vasil Barnovi (1856–1934), Georgian novelist
  • Nikoloz Berdzenishvili (1894–1965), Georgian historian
  • Vakhtang Chabukiani (1910–1992), Georgian ballet dancer
  • Ilia Chavchavadze (Saint Ilia the Righteous) (1837–1907), Georgian writer and public figure; and his wife Olgha Guramishvili (1842–1927)
  • Zakaria Chichinadze (1853–1931), Georgian historian and writer
  • Simon Chikovani (1902–1966), Georgian poet and public figure
  • Otar Chiladze (1933–2009), Georgian writer
  • Kakutsa Cholokashvili (1888–1930), Georgian national hero and fighter against the Soviet regime
  • Shalva Dadiani (1874–1959), Georgian playwright and actor
  • Nodar Dumbadze (1928–1984), Georgian writer
  • Davit Eristavi (1847–1890), Georgian journalist, translator and playwright
  • Zviad Gamsakhurdia (1939–1993), Soviet-era dissident and the first democratically elected President of Georgia
  • Iakob Gogebashvili (1840–1912), Georgian writer and educator
  • Alexander Griboyedov (1795–1829), Russian writer; and his wife Nino Chavchavadze (1812–1857)
  • Ioseb Grishashvili (1889–1965), Georgian writer, poet and scholar
  • Lado Gudiashvili (1896–1980), Georgian painter
  • Simon Janashia (1900–1947), Georgian historian
  • Mose Janashvili (1855–1934), Georgian historian
  • Ana Kalandadze (1924–2008), Georgian poetess
  • Akaki Khorava (1895–1972), Georgian actor
  • Leo Kiacheli (1884–1963), Georgian writer
  • Dimitri Kipiani (1814–1887), Georgian journalist and public figure
  • Davit Kldiashvili (1862–1931), Georgian writer
  • Merab Kostava (1939–1989), Soviet-era dissident and national hero of Georgia
  • Giorgi Leonidze (1899–1966), Georgian poet
  • Kote Marjanishvili (1872–1933), Georgian theatre director
  • Nikoloz Muskhelishvili (1891–1976), Georgian mathematician
  • Niko Nikoladze (1843–1928), Georgian journalist and public benefactor
  • Iakob Nikoladze (1876–1951), Georgian sculptor
  • Ivane Paliashvili (1868–1934), Georgian conductor
  • Galaktion Tabidze (1892–1959), Georgian poet
  • Ekvtime Takaishvili (1863–1953), Georgian historian and archaeologist
  • Aleksandre Tsagareli (1844–1929), Georgian linguist
  • Akaki Tsereteli (1840–1915), Georgian poet
  • Grigol Tsereteli (1870–1938), Georgian papyrologist
  • Anastasia Tumanishvili-Tseretlisa (1849–1932), Georgian woman writer
  • Vazha-Pshavela (1861–1915), Georgian poet
  • Ilia Vekua (1907–1977), Georgian mathematician
  • Sergo Zakariadze (1907–1971), Georgian actor
  • Solomon Dodashvili (1805–1836), Georgian philosopher, journalist, historian, grammarian, belletrist and enlightener

Building Activity

  • OpenBuildings
    OpenBuildings added a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via