Londonderry railway station

Londonderry/Derry Railway Station, known commonly as Waterside Railway Station, serves the city of Derry in Northern Ireland. The station also serves the west of County Londonderry, as well as serving much of west Tyrone and County Donegal. It is operated by Northern Ireland Railways. Services run to Great Victoria Street, which is the terminus for the line from Belfast. The original Londonderry Waterside Station was opened on 29 December 1852. It closed on 24 March 1980, but the station building remains intact. A new station of the same name replaced the larger terminus in 1980, after services were reduced and track layout was severely rationalised. The line consists of a single jointed track with loops at Castlerock and Coleraine stations. The station signs now read Londonderry, as the suffix Waterside became redundant upon closure of the city's two other railway termini. Despite the nameboard inscriptions, the destination signs on any Northern Ireland Railways train read Derry/Londonderry. In 2010, the Minister for Regional Development, Conor Murphy, mooted the possibility of building a new railway station that would connect the railway with a planned foot and cycle bridge across the Foyle, bringing it closer to the centre of the city.

As of September 2009, from Mondays to Saturdays there is a two-hourly service towards Belfast Great Victoria Street operated by Northern Ireland Railways, with five trains each way running on Sundays.

Preceding station Northern Ireland Railways Following station Bellarena Northern Ireland Railways Belfast-Derry Terminus

Building Activity

  • chris72
    chris72 updated a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via
  • jasamfaca3
    jasamfaca3 updated a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via
  • Georgi Sokolov
    Georgi Sokolov updated
    about 6 years ago via