Kumpula Campus

The Kumpula Campus (Finnish: Kumpulan kampus, Swedish: Campus Gumtäkt) is a science campus of University of Helsinki. The campus is located some four kilometres from the centre of Helsinki, in the Kumpula district. Completed in 2005, it currently provides study and research facilities for about 6,000 students and 1,000 teachers/researchers.


The biggest departments housed on the campus are:

  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Mathematics and Statistics
  • Department of Physics

and smaller:

  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Geology
Other institutions

A number of related or independent institutions are housed on the campus, e.g.:

  • The Finnish Institute for Verification of the Chemical Weapons Convention (VERIFIN)
  • The Finnish Museum of Natural History Dating Laboratory
  • The Helsinki Institute of Physics (HIP)
  • The Helsinki Institute for Information Technology (HIIT)
  • The Institute of Seismology
  • The Luma Centre
  • The Palmenia Centre for Continuing Education
  • The Finnish Institute of Marine Research (FIMR)
  • The Finnish Meteorological Institute (FMI)

The Kumpula Science Library provides scientific library services for the campus.


The campus consists of the following buildings:

  • Chemicum (Dept. of Chemistry; VERIFIN)
  • Physicum (Depts. of Physics, Geography, and Geology; Science Library; Dating Lab.; HIP)
  • Exactum (Depts. of Computer Science and Math & Statistics; I. of Seismology; HIIT)
  • Dynamicum (FIMR, FMI)
  • Accelerator Laboratory
  • Kumpula manor
  • Sport Center

The Kumpula Botanical Garden is located adjacent to the campus.

Building Activity

  • OpenBuildings
    OpenBuildings updated a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via Annotator
  • OpenBuildings
    OpenBuildings updated a digital reference and added a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via OpenBuildings.com