Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten

Edit profile
Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten

The Royal Museum of Fine Arts (Dutch: Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten van Antwerpen) is a museum in Antwerp, Belgium, founded in 1810, houses a collection of paintings, sculptures and drawings from the fourteenth to the twentieth centuries. This collection is representative of the artistic production and the taste of art enthusiasts in Antwerp, Belgium and the Northern and Southern Netherlands since the 15th century. The museum is closed for renovation until the end of 2017.

The neoclassical building housing the collection is one of the primary landmarks of the Zuid district of Antwerp. The majestic building was designed by Jacob Winders (1849-1936) and Frans van Dijk (1853-1839), built beginning in 1884, opened in 1890, and completed in 1894. Sculpture on the building includes two bronze figures of Fame with horse-drawn chariots by sculptor Thomas Vincotte, and seven rondel medallions of artists that include Boetius à Bolswert, Frans Floris, Jan Van Eyck, Peter Paul Rubens, Quentin Matsys, Erasmus Quellinus II, and Appelmans, separated by four monumental sculptures representing Architecture, Painting, Sculpture, and Graphics.

The building stands in gardens bounded by the Leopold de Waalplaats, the Schildersstraat, the Plaatsnijdersstraat, and the Beeldhouwersstraat.


Artists exhibited in the museum include:

  • 15th century
    • Jan van Eyck
    • Jean Fouquet
    • Rogier van der Weyden
    • Hans Memling
  • 16th century:
    • Frans Floris de Vriendt
    • Quinten Metsijs
    • Joachim Patinir
    • Marten de Vos
  • 17th century:
    • Jan Brueghel the Elder
    • Anthony van Dyck
    • Frans Hals
    • Jacob Jordaens
    • Theodoor Rombouts
    • Peter Paul Rubens
  • 19th century:
    • James Ensor
    • Auguste Rodin
    • Henry van de Velde
    • Fernand Khnopff
  • 20th century:
    • Pierre Alechinsky
    • René Magritte
    • Jacob Smits
    • Gustave Van de Woestijne
    • Rik Wouters