Kilravock Castle
Kilravock Castle (pronounced "Kil-rock" ) is located near the village of Croy, between Inverness and Nairn, in Highland, Scotland. It was begun around 1460, and has been the seat of the Clan Rose since that time. The castle is a composite of a 15th century tower house and several later additions. The original name for the castle was Cill Rathaig; Scottish Gaelic meaning "church at the small circular fort".

History
Its keep dates from around 1460, when the then baron of Kilravock was granted a license to build by the Lord of the Isles. This was extended in the 17th century, with the addition of a square stair tower, and the south range. The north and west sides of the quadrangle were added later. Mary, Queen of Scots, was received at the castle in 1562, and Prince Charles Edward Stuart was entertained four days before the battle of Culloden. His enemy, the Duke of Cumberland, visited soon after the battle, and Robert Burns came here in September 1787. It is a Category A listed building, and is still occupied. As of 2008 it is operated as bed and breakfast accommodation.

The Rose family
Kilravock Castle has been continuously tenanted by the Roses, a family of Norman origin, who arrived in Britain with William the Conqueror. They settled at Kilravock in 1293, since which date son has succeeded father without the interposition of a collateral heir, an instance of direct descent unique in Scottish history. Moreover, nearly every Rose has borne the Christian name of Hugh, and only one attained to a higher social rank than that of laird. The present chief of the Clan Rose, and occupant of the castle, is Anna Elizabeth Guillemard Rose, 25th of Kilravock.