Kaunas University of Medicine

Lithuanian University of Health Sciences (Lithuanian: Lietuvos sveikatos mokslų universitetas, (LSMU)) is a medical school in Kaunas, Lithuania. It was founded in 1919 and from 1922 it was a Faculty of Medicine of University of Lithuania.

In 1950, after the closure of Kaunas University, it was reformed into a separate institution and was known as Kaunas Medical Institute until 1998. From 1998 to 2010 its name was Kaunas University of Medicine.

The university has five faculties: medical, pharmacological, odontological, nursing, and social health, together with four research institutes. It uses the Kaunas University Hospital and the Kaunas Red Cross Hospital as a teaching hospitals.

Lithuanian University of Health Sciences is located in Kaunas Center, Adomas Mickevičius Street.

Building Activity

  • OpenBuildings
    OpenBuildings added a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via OpenBuildings.com