Fortifications of Vauban
Fortifications of Vauban consists of 12 groups of fortified buildings and sites along the western, northern and eastern borders of France. They were designed by Vauban (1633”“1707), and were added in 2008 to the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Numerous other places were fortified by Vauban (see main article for details).

List of sites
  • Arras, Pas-de-Calais: citadel
  • Besançon, Doubs: citadel, city walls and Fort Griffon
  • Blaye- Cussac-Fort-Médoc, Gironde: citadel of Blaye, city walls, Fort Paté and Fort Médoc
  • Briançon, Hautes-Alpes: city walls, Redoute des Salettes, Fort des Trois-Têtes, Fort du Randouillet, ouvrage de la communication Y and the Asfeld Bridge
  • Camaret-sur-Mer, Finistère: Tour dorée (lit. "Golden Tower") aka. Tour Vauban
  • Longwy, Meurthe-et-Moselle: ville neuve
  • Mont-Dauphin, Hautes-Alpes: place forte
  • Mont-Louis, Pyrénées-Orientales: citadel and city walls
  • Neuf-Brisach, Haut-Rhin: ville neuve/ Breisach ( Germany): gateway of the Rhine
  • Saint-Martin-de-Ré, Charente-Maritime: city walls and citadel
  • Saint-Vaast-la-Hougue/ Tatihou, Manche: watchtowers
  • Villefranche-de-Conflent, Pyrénées-Orientales: city walls, Fort Libéria and Cova Bastera
Two sites initially considered were removed from the final list:
  • Bazoches, Nièvre: château
  • Belle-Île-en-Mer, Morbihan: citadel and walls surrounding Le Palais

Building Activity

  • removed a media
    about 6 years ago via