First Unitarian Congregation of Toronto

Edit profile
First Unitarian Congregation of Toronto
The First Unitarian Congregation of Toronto is a Unitarian Universalist congregation in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. It is affiliated with the Canadian Unitarian Council. It is the largest of six UU congregations and fellowships in the Greater Toronto Area.

The congregation was founded in 1845, the second in Canada after the Montreal congregation. The congregation operated in a building on St. George Street, but moved to 216 Jarvis Street in the 1940s. In 1952, eight parishioners founded the Elizabeth Fry Society after hearing a speech by Agnes Macphail. In the 1950s, the congregation moved to its present building at 175 St. Clair Avenue West.

In 1993, the building underwent extensive renovations. The main space, named Sunderland Hall, was changed from an east-west to a north-south orientation. Workman Hall, which used to back on to Sunderland Hall as a disused stage was remodelled as a separate space and meeting area. Office and classroom spaces were updated and expanded. An airy narthex was added on the side of the building facing St. Clair including a tower with a stained glass window commissioned for the renovated building. The work is entitled Radiance, Reflection, Revelation by artist Sarah Hall. It was later nominated for the Ontario Arts Council's Jean Chalmers Award as the single largest commission for a stained glass work in the Toronto area. In September 2007, the city's heritage preservation committee proposed that the building be designated as a heritage property along with eight other church properties in the neighbourhood. At the request of the church's board of trustees, this designation was deferred until the church members could confer on the matter.

The congregation is led by a nine-member Board of Trustees including a President and Vice-President. There is also a treasurer but this position is not considered as a board member. Trustees are elected by the congregation to three-year terms with the possibility of one renewal. Minister(s) of the church are considered as employees and are not members of the board (although they frequently attend board meetings). The board is responsible for making policy decisions for the congregation. A number of convenors report to the board who are responsible for overseeing operational aspects of the congregation such as finance, membership recruitment, neighbourhood outreach, etc. All of the trustee and convenor positions are volunteers. The congregation holds an annual general meeting to elect new board members and approve the annual budget. Other issues affecting the entire congregation are also voted upon as the need arises.

One of the prominent founding members was Joseph Workman, known as the "Father of Canadian Psychiatry". Many other notable members include Arthur Lismer, a painter part of the Group of Seven, Sir Francis Hincks, Emily Stowe, the first female doctor to practise in Canada, William Dennison, the mayor of Toronto, Donald Macdonald, and Michael Cassidy, leader of the Ontario New Democratic Party.