Finnish Railway Museum

The Finnish Railway Museum (Finnish: Suomen Rautatiemuseo) is located in Hyvinkää, Finland. It was originally founded in 1898 and located in Helsinki. The museum was moved to Hyvinkää in 1974.

The museum is on the original station and yard site of the Hanko–Hyvinkää railway. In addition to the station building, there is a roundhouse and several other preserved buildings, mainly from the 1870s.

Unique objects are on display, including the only surviving imperial train of the Russian Emperor. There are ten steam locomotives on display, the oldest from 1868. The locomotives include the oldest known British Neilson and Company locomotive (0-6-0 No 1427) dating 1869 and a British Beyer Peacock locomotive dating from 1868.

The museum also has a live steam backyard railroad track, where train rides are offered to the public during special run days in the summer months.

Address: Hyvinkäänkatu 9, 05800 Hyvinkää, Finland

  • A 1:8 scale live steam train running on the museum's miniature track.

  • Plaque of the British "Neilson and Company" locomotive at the Museum.

  • The Cab interior of the British "Neilson and Company" locomotive at the Museum.

  • The British Beyer Peacock 0-4-2T steam locomotive at the Museum dating from 1868.

  • Plaque of The British Beyer Peacock locomotive at the Museum.

  • Early rail cars at the Finnish Railway Museum.