Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland

Edit profile
Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland
The Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland is the Cleveland-based headquarters of the U.S. Federal Reserve System's Fourth District. The district is composed of Ohio, western Pennsylvania, eastern Kentucky, and the northern panhandle of West Virginia. It has branch offices in Cincinnati and Pittsburgh. The check processing center in Columbus, Ohio was closed in 2005. The chief executive officer and president is Sandra Pianalto. The bank building, located at Superior Avenue and East 6th Street in downtown Cleveland was designed by the Cleveland firm of Walker and Weeks and completed in 1923. Its exterior architecture emulates an Italian Renaissance palazzo, is clad in pink Sienna marble. An extension to the building designed by HOK was completed in 1998, providing new facilities for check processing and cash handling. The building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The building's entrances feature allegorical sculptures by Henry Hering representing Security and Integrity flanking the East Sixth Street entrance, while his Energy watches the Superior Avenue entry. Its original 100 short tons (91 t) bank vault door is the largest in the world. The hinge has an overall height of 19 feet (5.8 m) and weighs over 47 short tons (43 t) fully assembled. The door casting itself was 20 short tons (18 t). It incorporates the largest hinge ever built. The vault's use was discontinued in 1997, though it is preserved intact for posterity.

Learning Center and Money Museum
In January 2006, the bank opened the Learning Center and Money Museum, replacing the public teller windows vacated after September 11, 2001. Over 25 hands-on exhibits focus on the history of money, its effects on societies and cultures, and its central role in peoples' lives. The museum is open from Monday through Thursday, except for bank holidays, and admission is free.

Current Board of Directors
The following people are on the board of directors as of 2010:

Class A

Class B

Class C

Class A Name Title Term Expires James E. Rohr Chairman and Chief Executive Officer The PNC Financial Services Group, Inc. Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 2010 Charlotte W. Martin President and Chief Executive Officer Great Lakes Bankers Bank Worthington, Ohio 2011 C. Daniel DeLawder Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Park National Bank Newark, Ohio 2012 Class B Name Title Term Expires Les C. Vinney Retired Chief Executive Officer STERIS Corporation Mentor, Ohio 2010 Tilmon F. Brown President and Chief Executive Officer New Horizons Baking Company Norwalk, Ohio 2011 Susan Tomasky President AEP Transmission Columbus, Ohio 2012 Class C Name Title Term Expires Roy W. Haley Chairman WESCO International, Inc. Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 2010 Alfred M. Rankin, Jr. (Chair) Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer NACCO Industries, Inc. Cleveland, Ohio 2011 Richard K. Smucker (Deputy Chair) Executive Chairman and Co-Chief Executive Officer The J.M. Smucker Company Orrville, Ohio 2012

Building Activity

  • removed a media
    about 6 years ago via OpenBuildings.com