Faculty of Law, Cambridge
The Faculty of Law at the University of Cambridge is one of the faculties at the Sidgwick Site. The building opened in 1996 and was designed by Norman Foster, who also designed the terminal building at Stansted Airport and 30 St Mary Axe (the 'Gherkin' in London). The building suffered serious acoustic problems (primarily due to a lack of consideration of acoustics in Foster's design), with its form amplifying any noise from the lower levels and causing significant disturbance at higher levels, not least in the library. This was fixed in 1999 with the installation of a glazed acoustic screen, separating quiet areas from noisy ones. The Faculty building contains the University's Squire Law Library, together with offices, lecture and seminar rooms and common room facilities. The Faculty has 24 professors, nine readers, and over 70 other University, Faculty and College Teaching Officers. The student body comprises about 700 undergraduate and 225 graduate students. The Squire Law Library, which consumes the majority of the first, second and third floors of the building, is a dependent library of Cambridge University Library. It contains one of the largest legal collections in the UK (approx. 180,000 volumes). The collection is very strong across UK law, the law of other major common law countries (the United States, Australia, Canada and New Zealand), and the law of the European Union, France and Germany. There are, additionally, smaller collections for the law of many other countries. The library provides its users with access to many major legal databases. Most individual colleges also have a smaller law library of their own.

Faculty Officers
The Officers of the Faculty of Law for 2009-10 are:
  • Chair of the Faculty Board: Professor David Ibbetson, Corpus Christi College
  • Deputy Chair of the Faculty Board: Professor Christine Gray, St John's College
  • Academic Secretary of the Faculty: Mr J Rowbottom, King's College
  • Secretary of the Faculty Board of Law: Ms Laura Smethurst, Faculty of Law
  • Chair of the Degree Committee: Mr Richard Fentiman, Queen's College
  • Secretary of the Degree Committee: Dr A du Bois-Pedain, Magdalene College
  • Director of the LL.M. Course: Mr Richard Nolan, St John's College
  • Deputy Director of the LL.M. Course: Dr Jens M Scherpe, Gonville & Caius College
  • Deputy Director of the LL.M. Course: Ms Jo Miles, Trinity College
  • Examinations Secretary: Dr Lorand Bartels, Trinity Hall
  • Access Officer: Mrs Nicola Padfield, Fitzwilliam College

Research Centres
The Faculty has a number of associated Research Centres:
  • The Lauterpacht Centre for International Law (LCIL)
  • The Centre for European Legal Studies (CELS)
  • The Centre for Corporate and Commercial Law (3CL)
  • The Centre for Public Law (CPL)
  • The Centre for Intellectual Property and Information Law (CIPIL)
  • The ESRC Centre for Business Research (CBR)
  • The Centre for Tax Law (CTL)
  • The Cambridge Forum for Legal and Political Philosophy (CFLPP)
  • The Cambridge Socio-Legal Group