Dyrham Park
Dyrham Park is a baroque mansion in an ancient deer park near the village of Dyrham in Gloucestershire, England. For the history of the manor of Dyrham, see main article Dyrham.

The house is set in 274 acres (1.1 km²) of gardens and parkland. The west front of 1692 was commissioned from the Huguenot architect, Samuel Hauduroy, and the east front of 1704 from William Talman, architect of Chatsworth, by William Blathwayt, who was Secretary at War to William III. Because of Blathwayt’s royal connections, and his influential uncle, Thomas Povey, Dyrham became a showcase of Dutch decorative arts. The collection includes delftware, paintings, and furniture. Eighteenth century additions include furniture by Gillow and Linnell. The interiors have remained little altered since decorated by Blathwayt. The Blathwayt family lived at the House until 1956, when the government acquired it. The National Trust acquired it in 1961.

The house and garden are open to the public from March to December, and the park all year, from late morning to about 5 pm. There is a bus service from Queen Square, Bath.

Popular music concerts are held in the park from time to time in the summer.

Dyrham Park was one of the houses used as a filming location for the 1993 Merchant Ivory film The Remains of the Day (others included Badminton House and Powderham Castle). An aerial view of Dyrham Park was also briefly featured in the opening title sequence of the 2008 film Australia . It was also used for some of the outdoor and garden scenes in the 1999 BBC mini-series Wives and Daughters . In September 2010, the BBC started filming episode four of the new series of Doctor Who at Dyrham Park.

Building Activity

  • removed a media
    about 5 years ago via OpenBuildings.com