Doyt Perry Stadium
Doyt L. Perry Stadium is a stadium in Bowling Green, Ohio. It is primarily used for American football, and is the home field of the Bowling Green State University Falcons. It opened in 1966 and originally held 30,599 people. Recent renovations and new NCAA seating regulations have lowered the listed capacity to 28,599. On October 8, 1983, the annual Toledo-Bowling Green football game established a school and MAC attendance record of 33,527. On October 1, 1966, the stadium opened with a 13-0 win over Dayton. The stadium was named for Doyt L. Perry, a highly successful coach and athletic director at the school. It was meant to replace University Stadium, a WPA stadium in the heart of campus which lasted 43 seasons. The stadium consists of two bowed sideline grandstands. The stadium also featured steel grandstands at the north and south ends. The south grandstands were removed to make way for a merchandise tent and a pavilion for the Falcon Club boosters. The north grandstand was removed to facilitate the construction of the Sebo Atletic Center. Through 37 seasons, the Bowling Green Falcons enjoyed an impressive 126-58-6 record at Doyt Perry Stadium. For the 2007 football season the stadium received an upgrade. The newly constructed Sebo Center will enclose the North endzone and house band seating, luxury suites, offices, training facilities and new box offices. The traditional grass field was also replaced with a Fieldturf artificial surface. Nevertheless, Doyt Perry Stadium has the smallest capacity of any stadium among schools in the MAC.