Citadel Theatre
The Citadel Theatre is the major venue for theatre arts in the city of Edmonton, located in the Downtown Core on Churchill Square.

Originally the "Old Salvation Army Citadel", the Citadel was bought by Joseph H. Shoctor, James L. Martin, Ralph B. MacMillan, and Sandy Mactaggart, and the first production to be performed was Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?. The theatre was founded on October 12, 1965 with its first opening night on November 10, 1965. It has the distinction of being the only venue where the Jule Styne musical Pieces of Eight has been produced. The organization moved to its current building just off Churchill Square in 1978. Architect Barton Myers designed the structure. The building itself houses the Maclab, Shoctor and Rice Theatres, Zeidler Hall (the venue for the art-house Metro Cinema), the Tucker Amphitheatre, and the Foote Theatre School. The Maclab and Tucker are part of the Lee Pavilion, a luscious greenscape right in the middle of Edmonton.

Artistic Directors
  • John Hulbert (1965-1966)
  • Robert Glenn (1966-1968)
  • Sean Mulcahy (1968-1973)
  • John Neville (1973-1978)
  • Peter Coe (1978-1981)
  • Joseph H. Shoctor (1981-1984, as Producer)
  • Gordon McDougall (1984-1987)
  • William Fisher (1987-1989)
  • Richard Dennison (1989-1990, as Producer)
  • Robin Phillips (1990-1995, as Director General)
  • Duncan McIntosh (1995-1999)
  • Bob Baker (1999-present)

2009-2010 season
  • The Drowsy Chaperone - by Bob Martin and Don McKellar
  • Blackbird - by David Harrower
  • The Jungle Book - by Rudyard Kipling, adapted by Tracey Power
  • Rock 'n' Roll - by Tom Stoppard
  • A Christmas Carol - by Charles Dickens, adapted by Tom Wood
  • Wingfield's Lost and Found - by Dan Needles
  • Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street - by Hugh Wheeler
  • Courageous - Michael Healy
  • The Glass Menagerie - by Tennessee Williams
  • The Drowning Girls - by Beth Graham, Charlie Tomlinson and Daniela Vlaskalic
  • As You Like It - by William Shakespeare
  • Beauty and the Beast - music by Alan Menken, lyrics by Howard Ashman and Tim Rice, book by Linda Woolverton