Cathedral of Saint Joseph the Workman

Edit profile
Cathedral of Saint Joseph the Workman
The Cathedral of St. Joseph the Workman is the mother church of the Diocese of La Crosse. The cathedral, designed by architect Edward J. Schulte, was completed in 1962. Built of limestone, it has a tall clock tower which rises above the surrounding buildings in downtown La Crosse, Wisconsin. The following Bishops of the Diocese of La Crosse are buried in the Blessed Sacrament Chapel:
  • Kilian Caspar Flasch
  • James Schwebach
  • Alexander Joseph McGavick, founder of Aquinas High School-La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • John Patrick Treacy, the builder of the new cathedral
  • Frederick William Freking
  • John Joseph Paul
Note:Bishop Michael Heiss is buried in Milwaukee and Auxiliary Bishop William Richard Griffin is buried in Chicago.

Building Activity

  • removed a media
    about 6 years ago via