Calfee Park is a stadium in Pulaski, Virginia, USA. It is primarily used for baseball, and is currently the home field of the Seattle Mariners' Appalachian League affiate, the Pulaski Mariners. It was built in 1935 as a Works Progress Administration project, and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Calfee Park was named after the mayor of Pulaski in 1935, Ernest W. Calfee. It holds approximately 2,500 people. The director of stadium operations is Dave Hart and the head groundskeeper is Gary Martin.
The park is set off of U.S. Route 11 in a valley within a residential neighborhood. As a result, a number of houses that surround the park have good views of games. The park had major renovations prior to the 1999 season, with a new grandstand behind the plate and along the first-base side as well as “open-air suites” (railed-in areas with picnic tables) farther down on the first-base line. A new scoreboard was also installed.Renovations
- Opened in 1935
- In 1999 the area behind homeplate was renovated adding individual seats that are sold as reserved seats. There was a fairly large grandstand added to the first base side stretching from homeplate to first base. "open air suites" stretch down the first base line right along the field, past the dugout there is a deck that is sectioned off and used as box seating. There are 13 boxes stretching down the right side of the field. There was a new Concession stand and home clubhouse added in as well.
- In 2009, the town added a 14th box behind homeplate and above the general admission seating. The box looks directly down the first base line. Views of left field are somewhat obstructed when in the "sky box" because of the roof above the old grandstands. Earlier in 2009 there was a new indoor facility constructed on site. It showcases two hitting tunnels that can also be used for pitching work.