Bridgeport Bridge

The Bridgeport Bridge is an abandoned bridge which once carried US 40 over the back channel of the Ohio River between Wheeling Island, West Virginia and Bridgeport, Ohio.

Constructed in 1893, the Bridgeport Bridge was one type of crossing that could be 'ordered' from catalogs towards the end of the nineteenth century.

The wooden bridge deck was replaced in 1950 with steel grating. In 1987, the floor beams had become structurally unsound for automobile traffic. A self-supporting, load-bearing deck structure was installed inside the trusses of the Bridgeport Bridge. This was only a temporary measure, as the bridge was replaced in 1998 with the adjacent Military Order of the Purple Heart Bridge.

WTOV TV9 in Steubenville recently reported that the bridge will be demolished, starting at the end of July, 2011. They reported that the West Virginia Department of Highways received a request from the Coast Guard to bring the bridge down as it is a safety hazard and pieces have fallen into the river. The report went on to say that it has not been determined if the bridge will be dynamited or brought down by mechanical means. It also verefied that many of the unique features of the bridge, such as the railings, signage, the finials on top, and plaques will be removed first. The bridge demolition is expected to take 60 days and cost $750,000.00, which is considerably less than the $1.2 million that was estimated to be the cost of demolition in 2000.

  • "Bridgeport Bridge, Spanning West Channel of Ohio River, U.S. Route 40, Wheeling, Ohio County, WV." Historic American Engineering Record. Lib. of Congress. 8 May 2006
  • "Historic Wheeling Island bridge to be razed" Columbus Dispatch, Columbus, Ohio

Building Activity

  • OpenBuildings
    OpenBuildings updated a digital reference
    about 5 years ago via Annotator
  • OpenBuildings
    OpenBuildings updated a digital reference and added a digital reference
    about 5 years ago via