Bosse Field
Bosse Field, is a baseball stadium located in Evansville, Indiana. Built in 1915, it is the third oldest ballpark used for professional baseball on a regular basis in the country, surpassed only by Fenway Park (1912) in Boston and Wrigley Field (1914) in Chicago. It is the current home of the Frontier League Evansville Otters, a minor league baseball team. The Otters franchise came to Evansville in 1995 and have attracted a record number of fans for the league. In 2006 the Otters won the Frontier League title. In 1991 the historic stadium was used by Columbia Pictures for game scenes in the movie A League of Their Own.

Bosse Field opened on July 17, 1915. It was named in honor of Benjamin Bosse, mayor of Evansville from 1914 to 1922, who bought Garvin Park and helped to build the stadium. A holiday was declared in honor of the opening of the stadium. A band marched from Sunset Park to the new stadium. Ten baseball teams other than the Otters have played at Bosse Field. Some of the most famous are the Evansville Triplets (1970-84), Evansville Braves (1946-57), Evas/Pocketeers/Hubs (1919-1931) and the Evansville River Rats (1914-15). The River Rats had played in Evansville previously from (1903-1910) and (1901-1902). The Triplets won the American Association titles in 1972, 1975, and 1979. The River Rats won the Central League title in 1908 and 1915. The Braves won the Three-I League title in 1946, 1948, 1956, and 1957. From 1921 to 1922, Bosse Field was used as a football stadium and was home to the Evansville Crimson Giants of the NFL. Baseball Hall of Fame members Hank Greenberg, Chuck Klein, Edd Roush, Warren Spahn, and Sam Thompson played at Bosse Field during their careers. There have been many other Major League Baseball players from Evansville.

Former/current professional teams
Former/current professional teams who have called Bosse Field home, have won a combined 9 league titles.

Team Sport League Played Class Affiliation Championships Evansville River Rats Baseball Central League 1914”“1915 B Central League Title 1915 Evansville Evas Baseball Central League 1916”“1917 B None Evansville Black Sox Baseball Three-I League 1919 B None Evansville Evas Baseball Three-I League 1920”“1923 B None Evansville Crimson Giants Football National Football League 1921”“1922 Major Professional None Evansville Little Evas Baseball Three-I League 1924 B None Evansville Pocketeers Baseball Three-I League 1925 B None Evansville Hubs Baseball Three-I League 1926”“1931 B None Evansville Bees Baseball Three-I League 1938”“1942 B Boston Bees, 1938-1940 Boston Braves, 1940”“1942 None Evansville Braves Baseball Three-I League 1946”“1957 B Boston Braves, 1946-1953 Milwaukee Braves, 1953”“1957 Three-I League Title 1946, 1948, 1956, 1957 Evansville White Sox Baseball Southern League 1966”“1968 AA Chicago White Sox None Evansville Triplets Baseball American Association 1970”“1984 AAA Minnesota Twins, 1970 Milwaukee Brewers, 1971-1973 Detroit Tigers, 1974”“1984 American Association Title 1972, 1975, 1979 Evansville Otters Baseball Frontier League 1995”“Present Indp Frontier League Title 2006


2 photos