Andhra Pradesh State Assembly

Coordinates: 17°24′06″N 78°28′05″E / 17.401586°N 78.467995°E / 17.401586; 78.467995 The Andhra Pradesh Legislature is the state legislature of Andhra Pradesh. The Andhra Pradesh legislature has been both unicameral and bicameral in its history.

State legislature

The Andhra Pradesh Legislature is currently bicameral.

From 1956 to 1958 the Andhra Pradesh Legislature was unicameral and from 1958 when the Council was formed, it became bicameral and continued till 1 June 1985 when the Legislative Council was abolished and the Andhra Pradesh Legislature once again became unicameral. This continued until March 2007 when the Legislative Council was reestablished and elections were held for its seats as per The Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council Bill, 2004.

Seat of government

The Andhra Pradesh State Assembly Building, located in Hyderabad city, is the seat of the Andhra Pradesh Legislature.

It was built in 1913, the building was originally the Hyderabad Town hall. The Citizens of Princely state of Hyderabad raised money to build it to mark the 40th birthday of Nizam Mir Mahboob Ali Khan in 1905. This white gem of Hyderabad's architectural splendor was designed by specially commissioned architects. It adjoins the picturesque public gardens.


The Indian National Congress(INC) won its second consecutive term in the Legislative Assembly elections with an absolute majority held during April–May 2009. After the accidental death of Y.S. Rajashekar Reddy in a chopper crash, K Rosaiah replaced him as Chief Minister. Due to health reasons, K Rosaiah had to step down and Kiran Kumar Reddy is continuing as the present Chief Minister.k

  • Ayyadevara Kaleswara Rao (1956–1962)
  • B. V. Subba Reddy (1962–1970)
  • G. Narayana Rao
  • Divi.Kondaiah Chowdhary
  • Kona Prabhakara Rao (1980–1981)
  • Tangi Satyanarayana (1983-1985)
  • D. Sripada Rao (1991 - 1995)
  • Yanamala Rama Krishnudu (1995 - 1999)
  • K. Pratibha Bharati (1999 - 2004)
  • K. R. Suresh Reddy (2004 - 2009)
  • Nallari Kiran Kumar Reddy (2009 - 2010 )
  • Nadendla Manohar (2011- Till Date)
Legislative Assembly Constituencies

There are a total of 294 Assembly Constituencies, across 23 districts, in the state of Andhra Pradesh.

Building Activity

  • dunk
    dunk updated a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via
  • pdenhard
    pdenhard updated a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via
  • Kiril Pavlov
    Kiril Pavlov updated
    about 6 years ago via