All Saints' Anglican Cathedral

Edit profile
All Saints' Anglican Cathedral

All Saint's Anglican Cathedral is the cathedral serving the Anglican Diocese of Edmonton, which covers central Alberta. It serves as the episcopal seat of the Bishop of Edmonton, currently The Right Reverend Dr. Jane Alexander.


The current building is located at 10035 103 Street in downtown Edmonton, just half a block south of Jasper Avenue. The current building was dedicated on May 10, 1956.

The building is joined with a seniors' residence called Cathedral Close via an atrium. The Synod offices of the Diocese and those of the cathedral located on the second floor and are access via the atrium, which acts as the parish hall.

The Cathedral has a level entry, making it accessible to the physical handicapped and seniors without need for any ramps or elevators.


The Parish of All Saints' was founded in 1875 by The Reverend Canon William Newton, the first known Anglican missionary to the Edmonton area. The parish first meet in a log cabin at the corner of what is now Jasper Avenue and 121 Street.

By 1895 the parish had grown considerably and required a new building. A new church was constructed on 103rd Street near the present site, however construction was only half completed due to lack of funds. In 1905 the church went through considerable renovations completing the original building plans.

In 1914 the new installed Bishop of Edmonton, The Rt. Rev. H. A. Gray, named All Saints' as the pro-cathedral of the Anglican Diocese of Edmonton. On December 20, 1919 a fire broke out and destroyed the church leaving only the outside walls intact. The pro-cathedral was rebuilt on the same site.

The present building was completed in 1956 after tearing down the structure built in 1921, and was finally given the permanent status of cathedral. The Parish hall to the north was demolished in 1973 with Cathedral Close, with the senior's complex/synod office building, eventually being built in its place.


The cathedral serves as the seat of the Bishop of Edmonton, The Rt. Rev. Dr. Jane Alexander, who was installed on May 11, 2008 during the Feast of Pentecost. She had previously served as the Dean and Rector of All Saints' until her consecration as Bishop.

The Very Rev. Neil Gordon is the present Dean having been installed on June 27, 2010 during the translated Feast of Saints Peter and Paul. Dean Gordon has previously served throughout the Diocese of Edmonton in several parishes, having also served as a Rural Dean.

The Rev. Canon Travis Enright presently holds the position of Vicar at the parish, having previously been the Curate. Canon Enright has been highly involved in both the Diocesan liaison work with the Aboriginal community of Edmonton, and within the Anglican Church of Canada. Canon Enright, whom is of Plains Cree descent, is also a regular celebrant of a unique rite called Standing Stones, which involves a mixture of Aboriginal spirituality and Anglicanism into a Eucharistic service. He was installed as Canon Missioner of the Diocese on October 3, 2010.

All Saints' is host to a congregation of the Episcopal Church of the Sudan under the Reverend Akon Akon. This congregation conducts their services in Dinka rather than English. Pastor Akon's honourary assistant status with All Saints' is unique in that he is not a retired priest.

All Saints' has one vocational deacon, six honourary assistants (five retired priests and Pastor Akon) and a theological student intern awaiting diaconal ordination. As well, several retired clergy attend All Saints' whom do not have honourary assistant status.

Past Staff

The Following is a list of the Rectors and Deans of All Saints.

Rectors of All Saints'
  • The Rev. Charles Cunningham, 1891–1893
  • The Rev. Alfred Studen, 1893–1896
  • The Ven. Henry A. Gray, 1896–1914 Archdeacon of Edmonton in the Diocese of Calgary. Later elected 1st Bishop of Edmonton.
  • The Rev. George H. Webb, 1914–1918
  • The Rev. Canon E. Pierce-Goulding, 1918–1937
  • The Rev. T. E. Rowe, 1937–1939
  • The Rev. I. D. Bachelor, 1939-1940 (acting)
Deans of Edmonton, and Rectors of All Saints'

In 1945 the office of Dean was created.

  • The Very Rev. A. M. Trendell, 1940–1950
  • The Very Rev. J. Grant Sparling, 1950–1956
  • The Very Rev. W. Gerald Burch, 1956–1960 Later elected 5th Bishop of Edmonton
  • The Very Rev. T. W. Teape, 1960–1965
  • The Very Rev. Ronald F. Shepherd, 1965–1970
  • The Very Rev. Randal E. Ivany, 1970–1974
  • The Very Rev. Russell Brown, 1974–1981
  • The Very Rev. Harry Dawson, 1981–1989
  • The Very Rev. Harold T. Munn, 1989–1998
  • The Very Rev. Gregory K. Kerr-Wilson, 1998–2006 Later 11th Bishop of Qu'Appelle
  • The Very Rev. Dr. Jane Alexander, 2006–2008 Later 10th Bishop of Edmonton
  • Major The Very Rev. Lee Bezanson, 2008–2010

Sunday Services

  • 8:00am - Said Eucharist - Book of Common Prayer
  • 9:15am - Sung Eucharist - Book of Alternative Services
  • 11:00am - Choral Eucharist - Book of Alternative Services
  • 2:00pm - Dinka Language Service
  • 7:00pm - Evensong (First Sunday of the Month)
  • 7:00pm - Taize (Third Sunday of the Month)

Weekday Services

  • 8:30am - Morning Prayer (Tuesday - Friday)
  • 12:10pm - Holy Eucharist (Thursday)

Building Activity

  • OpenBuildings
    OpenBuildings added a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via