Akershus University Hospital

The Akershus University Hospital (Norwegian: Akershus universitetssykehus, abbreviated to Ahus) is a Norwegian public university hospital located in the Lørenskog municipality, in the county of Akershus, east of the Norwegian capital Oslo. It is one of four university hospitals affiliated with the University of Oslo. The hospital has 4,000 employees.

Akershus University Hospital has 515 beds in somatic sector (including technical beds – neonatal, heart supervision and intensive care), and 196 beds in psychiatric sector.

In November 2008 a new hospital building designed by Danish architecture practice Arkitektfirmaet C. F. Møller opened. Setting new standards for hospital architecture in Norway, it claims to be the most modern in Europe.


Internal medicine with subspecialties, Neurology, Oncology, Children and Neonatal, Children Habilitation, Physiotherapy.

Surgical with subspecialties, Orthopedic, Ear-Nose-Throat, Anesthesia, Women/birth Clinic.

Clinical Chemistry and Nuclear Medicine, Immunology and Transfusions Medicine, Microbiology, Pathologic anatomy, Radiology

Adult and Children Psychiatric, Adult Habilitation