11 Downing Street
11 Downing Street (commonly known as Number 11), is the official residence of the Second Lord of the Treasury in Britain, who in modern times has always been the Chancellor of the Exchequer. Since 11 May 2010, it has been the official residence of George Osborne, when he was appointed Chancellor by Prime Minister David Cameron. The address is adjacent to the more famous 10 Downing Street, official residence of the First Lord of the Treasury, who since the early years of the 19th century has always been the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom. Many internal refurbishments over the years have obscured the buildings to the point that they can appear to be one single complex. To the right of number 11, 12 Downing Street is the official residence of the Chief Whip but now used as the Prime Minister's press office. One can walk from 11 to 10 Downing Street without having to go outside, via an adjoining door. When Tony Blair became Prime Minister in 1997 he chose to use Number 11 rather than Number 10 as his actual (as opposed to official) residence, as its larger living areas were more suitable for his young family. When Gordon Brown became Prime Minister, he also chose to live in Number 11 , but soon moved back to Number 10.

Building Activity

  • removed a media and updated a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via OpenBuildings.com
  • updated a digital reference
    about 6 years ago via Annotator